Crime fiction | Murder mystery

She Cradled the Smoking Gun: Ch 18

Lisa faces evil from a source she never expected

Don Simkovich, MA
4 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Partial face of woman on black background
Photo by Luke Braswell on Unsplash

Click here for Ch 1 | Ch 2 | Ch 3 | Ch 4 | Ch 5 | Ch 6 | Ch 7 | Ch 8 | Ch 9 | Ch 10 | Ch 11 | Ch 12 | Ch 13 | Ch 14 | Ch 15 | Ch 16 | Ch 17

“What the hell are you doing?” cried Lisa. She was lying on the sofa with her wrists securely tied behind her back and took a deep breath before screaming, “Help! Someone help.” Tears ran down her face.

Selena spoke in a hushed tone and gently wiped her eyes. “Quiet. Stop it.” She sat on the sofa and stroked Lisa’s hair. “Why the fuss? Just settle, Lisa. I can’t believe you’re so upset.”

Lisa laughed at the insane declaration. “Oh, my God. Of course, I’m upset. It was you. You killed my husband. Why, Selena, why?”

“Because he wasn’t any good for you. But me, I’ve been a good friend, haven’t I?”

Lisa was silent.

“You’re overthinking everything.” Selena spoke in soothing tones. “Haven’t I listened quietly while you poured out your heart?”

Lisa turned, trying to wipe her face on her shoulders.

Selena turned parental. “I asked you a question, now the polite thing to do is answer me.”

--

--

Don Simkovich, MA

Don is co-author of the Tom Stone Detective novels on Amazon and writes content for businesses. Visit Don Simkovich Amazon.